Thursday, May 28, 2015

Blitz and Review: 21 Stolen Kisses by Lauren



Today I'm participating in a Release Week Blitz for Lauren Blakely's 21 Stolen Kisses. This is a very unusual book, one that I think you'll either love or hate. It's being billed as a "New Adult Forbidden Romance" - are you intrigued by that?

Check out the rest of the post to find out which side of that I fall on, to check out an excerpt, get information about the Facebook party happening *right now,* and get in on a giveaway!

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Blog Tour: All of Me by Jennifer Bernard





Jennifer Bernard kicks off a brand-new baseball-themed contemporary romance series with All of Me. This book released yesterday, May 26th, and if you loved Bernard's Bachelor Firemen series, you will want to get on board with the sexy, single men of the Kilby Catfish (no, not a sexy baseball team name, but it does lend itself to some humour) in the Love Between the Bases series. 

Stick with me for an excerpt, review, and an Avon-sponsored giveaway!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Task It Tuesday - May 26, 2015



Welcome to Task It Tuesday, hosted by The Geeky Blogger 

What, you ask, is Task It Tuesday? Every Tuesday, Felicia at The Geeky Blogger posts about a task she'd like to accomplish that week that relates to blogging/reading/challenges. 

I'm hopping on board this week.

Jinn and Juice by Nicole Peeler

The Basics:
Jinn and Juice by Nicole Peeler
Orbit
Book One in the Jinni series
Urban Fantasy
Published April 7, 2015
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Kobo Goodreads

Why I picked up this book:

The small version of the cover reminded me of a few late 1980s and early 1990s romance novels for which I have a soft spot. Also, I liked the blurb and haven't read anything featuring genies/jinni lately.

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Endless Possibilities Read-A-Thon: Sign-up/TBR Post

Hey Guys!

It's been a while since I've posted something that isn't a review or blog tour post, hasn't it?

Well, I want to change that. I want to start chatting more, and get more involved in the community. 

Joining the Good Tales Book Tours "Endless Possibilities Read-A-Thon" is one thing I'm planning to do this week that should be a *lot* of fun.

So, this is my sign-up post, and we've been asked to include a TBR list. To create a realistic TBR, I had to look at what else happening in my life on those days... and lo and behold! My daughter's got a soccer game on the 4th, then a PA Day on the 5th, and on the 6th, we have guests coming over for lunch and a visit. So I'm just not going to have the kind of time over those three days that I'd like to have for reading.

I'm going to stick with three books, and if those go quickly, I'll add more.

I selected three physical books because I can carry this around and read them anywhere, without fretting about battery power and such. And while I could really use the time to catch up on review books, planning this far out which books I'll read in those three days for reviews is tricky. So, I'm going to catch up on my (massive) personal TBR pile.

I've also chosen three books from very different genres, to keep things fresh.

Endless Possibilities TBR List (June 4-6, 2015)

1. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins.


 "Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.
With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more."

I purchased both Rebel Belle and Miss Mayhem earlier this year. I really enjoyed Hex Hall by this author, though I was a bit let down by the rest of that series. This looks like YA urban fantasy, with a solid dose of Southern charm. I'm hoping maybe a Southern version of the Finishing School series?



2. Hot Blooded by Lisa Jackson

"A First One Dead Body. . .
A prostitute lies strangled in a seedy French Quarter hotel room. Miles away, in a rambling plantation house on the sultry shores of Lake Ponchartrain, popular late-night radio host Dr. Samantha Leeds receives a threatening crank call. All in a day's work for a celebrity. Who would think to link the two?
Then Another. . .
A second hooker's corpse turns up. Samantha's ominous caller persists, along with a mysterious claiming to be a woman from her past--a woman who's been dead for years. With Detective Rick Bentz convinced that the serial killer prowling the shadowy streets of New Orleans is somebody close to Samantha, she doesn't dare trust anyone. Especially not Ty Wheeler, her seductive new neighbor who seems to know more about her than a stranger should.
. . .And Another
Somebody has discovered Samantha's darkest secret. Somebody is convinced that lives must be sacrificed to pay for her sins. So far, the victims have been strangers. But as a cunning, cold-blooded killer grows bolder, Samantha wonders in dread if she will be the next to die. . ."

I love mysteries, and crime novels, so when the opportunity came up to grab this book - which was originally published in 2001 - I took it. I love reading series from the start, and hopefully this one that I can enjoy! I'm hoping this is a modern and grittier version of the In Death series.

3. Otherwise Engaged by Amanda Quick.

"Miss Amity Doncaster, world traveler, is accustomed to adventure and risk. Benedict Stanbridge, a man of science and a spy for the Crown, has faced danger in the darker corners of foreign lands.

But they are about to face a threat that is shockingly close to home . . .


One does not expect to be kidnapped on a London street in broad daylight. But Amity Doncaster barely escapes with her life after she is trapped in a carriage with a blade-wielding man in a black silk mask who whispers the most vile taunts and threats into her ear. Her quick thinking, and her secret weapon, save her . . . for now.

But the monster known in the press as the Bridegroom, who has left a trail of female victims in his wake, has survived the wounds she inflicts and will soon be on his feet again. He is unwholesomely obsessed by her scandalous connection to Benedict Stanbridge—gossip about their hours alone in a ship’s stateroom seems to have crossed the Atlantic faster than any sailing vessel could. Benedict refuses to let this resourceful, daring woman suffer for her romantic link to him—as tenuous as it may be.

For a man and woman so skilled at disappearing, so at home in the exotic reaches of the globe, escape is always an option. But each intends to end the Bridegroom’s reign of terror in London, and will join forces to do so. And as they prepare to confront an unbalanced criminal in the heart of the city they love, they must also face feelings that neither of them can run away from. . ."

I always enjoy Jayne Ann Krentz, and whichever guise she's publishing under, so this one is a bit of back-up in case the other two books get slow. I know I'll enjoy it. Historical romance, with a bit of romantic suspense in the mix, I think? It should be good stuff!

I'll post a couple times during June 4-6 to let you know how the Read-A-Thon is going. Also check out @TETOReviews , the blog's Twitter account for updates!

The Endless Possibilities Read-A-Thon Organized by Good Tales Book Tours

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Blog Tour: Desire Me Now by Tiffany Clare




Avon Impulse's release of Desire Me Now by Tiffany Clare intrigued me. This is the first book in a sexy historical romance series - stick around for my review, and a chance to win a digital copy of the book!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Blog Tour: Rush by Gina Gordon

 

On May 12th, Loveswept released Rush by Gina Gordon. Do you have your copy yet? This is a hot, new adult romance that you are going to want to check out. Skeptical?  First, check out that cover. Second, I've got an excerpt, a giveaway and my review of the book, so stick around!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.