Wednesday, July 23, 2014

BLOG TOUR: How to Date Dead Guys by Ann M Noser



I'm a fan of Curiosity Quills Press - they've been very generous with review copies and so when I decided I was ready to branch out beyond my normal routine here on the blog, signing up for one of their blog tours was a no-brainer.

Released on July 14th, 2014, How to Date Dead Guys by Ann M. Noser is a new adult, urban fantasy novel that has a lighter touch than traditional urban fantasy.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

COVER REVEAL: The Undead: Playing for Keeps by Elsie Elmore

I am thrilled to be included in today's very exciting cover reveal. The book is called The Undead: Playing for Keeps. Written by Elsie Elmore and published by Curiosity Quills Press, this young adult, paranormal romance is scheduled for release on September 3rd, 2014.

Before the big reveal, let me entice you with this blurb:

"When an undead woman with serious de-comp issues stalks sixteen-year-old Lyla Grimm, her hope of rescuing her rock-bottom reputation takes a back seat. Especially once Lyla’s new talent of resurrecting the dead draws the attention of Eric, a Grim Reaper with a guitar and a chip on his shoulder.

While Lyla navigates the gossip-ridden halls, Eric works to gain her trust and discover why Death’s clients aren’t staying down. If she passes on her gift, his death-messenger destiny might be altered. But the closer he gets to Lyla, the less sure he is of his plan. The dead are way easier to deal with than the living.

Gossip explodes, the Grimm family implodes, and desperation sets in. Death wants the gift and a soul. Lyla and Eric face hard choices with hidden consequences. Sometimes life’s choices aren’t really choices at all.."

This debut novel from Elmore intrigues me - I love books that turn death into a character or that feature a Grim Reaper character. 

If that wasn't enough to hook you, check out the cover!

The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan

The Basics:
The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan
Self-Pubbed
Book 4 in the Brothers Sinister
Historical Romance
Published July 15, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

I've enjoyed Milan's books in the past, and I love clever heroines in historical romances.

Monday, July 21, 2014

Queen of Wands by Katee Robert

The Basics:
Queen of Wands by Katee Robert
Entangled: Select
Book Three in the Sanctify Series
Romance, Science Fiction
Published June 24, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Why I picked up this book:

I liked the implication of the tarot theme as well as the romance and science fiction meld.



Sunday, July 20, 2014

Quick Update!

Regular readers will have noticed that the blog went dark mid-week. It was with good reason: my little sister had her baby on Wednesday! I left Tuesday morning and was gone through the end of the week visiting with the new mom and her wee girl, and I had very limited access to the internet during that time.

Things should be back on track this week - and, in fact, I will be participating in my first two blog tours later in the week, so please check back for those!


Saturday, July 19, 2014

Last of the Red Hot Cowboys by Tina Leonard

The Basics:
Last of the Red Hot Cowboys by Tina Leonard
Loveswept
Book One of Hell's Outlaws
Romance
Published June 24, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Why I picked up this book:

I've got a thing for cowboys.

Blurb:

Ava Buchanan dreams of a career on the rodeo circuit. Winning a spot on a one-of-a-kind team would be her ticket to the life she’s always wanted. Ava won’t let anyone stand in her way—not even a stubborn cowboy whose slow-molasses smile and red-hot swagger set her senses aflame . . . and whose talents as a trainer could make her a star. Rodeo might be a man’s game, but Ava knows the right woman’s touch can tame the wildest heart.

Trace Carter believes his mayor’s plan to raise the town’s profile has disaster written all over it, and he won’t allow the Hell’s Outlaws Training Center to be dragged into the fiasco. Yet watching Ava’s delectable body on horseback proves too much of a temptation, and his fantasies stray to her riding skills outside the arena. Soon Trace is fighting like hell to rein in his unbridled desire for the petite brunette before it becomes a passion hotter than the Texas sun.

My thoughts:

Last of the Red Hot Cowboys fell far short of the mark, for me. This book felt dated, with chest-beating, manly men and scheming women. It definitely reminded me of some of the first romance novels I read, that had been published in the 1980s and 1990s. The gender stereotypes were out in full force, and it made me extremely uncomfortable.

Trace is a manly man - a former military man who now runs a training center with his two best friends. It's a men-only zone - one of the foundations on which the business is built is that women aren't welcome. And of course, they live in 'Hell' - a town that's short on women as it is.

Until Mayor Judy - who basically runs around scheming and manipulating and promising her Sheriff boyfriend his Saturday Night Special if he keeps her happy - brings in three gorgeous women that she wants to train as rodeo clowns to raise the profile of her small town. Or,  you know, she wants to pair off with these three friends. Because that's what scheming mayors do. Truly, she spends so much time running around with her team and shaking her fist at Ivy, a woman who has her eye on Judy's boyfriend, I wanted to know what her actual duties as mayor were.

I felt extremely uncomfortable not only because Judy brought the women to town on false pretenses, but also because of how the stereotypes played out. Trace's thoughts were cringeworthy - women as delicate flowers or else manipulative.

This is very much a men vs women type romance and I did not enjoy it at all.

Bottom line:

Not my cup of tea, Last of the Red Hot Cowboys struck the wrong notes for me with the gender stereotyping and manipulation. This one might be fun if you can see past those things or if you're *really* into cowboys.

2 stars
For fans of cowboys.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Dark Paradise by Angie Sandro

The Basics:
Dark Paradise by Angie Sandro
Forever Yours
Book One in the Dark Paradise series
New Adult, Romance
Published July 1, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

That cover got my attention! And I'm always looking for New Adult romances with something a little different.