Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Just One Night by Lauren Layne

The Basics:
Just One Night by Lauren Layne
Loveswept
Book Two in the Sex, Love & Stiletto series
Romance
Published April 22, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca

Why I Picked Up This Book:

I enjoyed the first book in the series, couldn't resist the next one.


Monday, April 21, 2014

His to Posses by Opal Carew

The Basics:
His to Possess by Opal Carew
St Martin's
Erotica
Published March 18, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

I was looking for erotica from a reliable publisher.

Friday, April 18, 2014

The Temptations of Anna Jacobs by Robyn DeHart

The Basics:
The Temptations of Anna Jacobs by Robyn DeHart
Intermix
Book Two in the Dangerous Liasons series
Historical Romance
Published April 15, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca 

Why I picked up this book:

I have a thing for the Ripper murders and all the hoopla surrounding them so a romance set against that backdrop intrigued me.

Jane's Melody by Ryan Winfield

The Basics:
Jane's Melody by Ryan Winfield
Atria Books
Romance
Published April 8, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

Romance by a male author, I had to read it when the opportunity came up

Monday, April 14, 2014

The Affair by Lily Maxton

The Basics:

The Affiar by Lily Maxton
Entangled: Scandalous
A Sisters of Scandal Novella
Historical Romance
Published April 14, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca 

Why I picked up this book:

Bookseller romance? Yes.

Blurb:

She was his for one week only…

When a beautiful stranger ducks into his bookshop during a rainstorm, Cale Cameron, well-known rake, is instantly attracted to her. Elizabeth, Lady Thornhill, is restless and hungers for something she cannot name. Society would never accept a countess and a mere bookseller, so they agree to a one week affair to indulge their desire.

As their passion ignites and their connection grows, Elizabeth threatens the one thing Cale has protected above all else—his heart. Letting her go is the only solution…and the one thing he is not prepared to do.

My thoughts:

This novella is about 70 pages long and it's too short. I wanted more of Elizabeth and Cale. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this short tale of romance between a widow and a bookseller with a scandalous reputation. Elizabeth is fresh out of mourning for a husband who didn't appreciate her. Cale's a man who knows how to appreciate a woman, and he's set his sights on our heroine. 

Because of the novella format, there isn't enough time to develop anything beyond the central romance. The romance started abruptly - I almost wished these two had a prior connection, perhaps she had visited the lending library/bookstore while married or had a pattern of running into each other before their fortuitous encounter one rainy day.

Regardless, there's a spark between Cale and Elizabeth that made their romance believable. 

There's the cast of required secondary characters - scheming mother, two younger sisters (who I imagine might star in their own stories, particularly the 'betting' sister as she made the stronger impression), and a respectable suitor.

Bottom line:

It's a brief, enjoyable romance. Just the thing to fill an hour in a fun way!

4.5 stars
For fans of historical romance, books in books.

A to Z - L (2014)

I'm doing the A to Z Blogging Challenge this year. The basic idea is to blog nearly daily with each day representing a different letter of the alphabet. My entries will be short and book-related.  



L is for...

Literary Fiction!


When fiction doesn't fit a genre, it tends to be categorized as mainstream. I usually think of it was literary - or simply literature. These are books that make for good book reports in school, that are often about the message or the journey rather than where you're going to end up. It's about beautiful language and dazzling linguistic artistry, often (but not always) prized above a thrilling plot. (And this isn't to say these things are valued in genre fiction either, because they are and I think genre fiction takes a bad rap on some fronts because it's entertainment as well as art).

These are the books that get grants to be written, that receive big literary prizes and that tend to make good book club books as long your book club doesn't mind being occasionally pretentious (and does actually read and discuss books).

I've read some excellent literary fiction - I majored in English so it wasn't optional. I also love nineteenth century novels, and I tend to mentally lump these into the same category, because there's a certain linguistic elegance to even those that were considered pulpy and 'genre' at the time they were written.

I find that literary fiction is never my go-to. These are usually the books that I think I should read rather than the ones I pick up for enjoyment.  

Basically, I guess all my A-Z blogging so far is leading me to underline the pleasure I find in reading, and the emphasis I put on entertainment over enlightenment.   


Saturday, April 12, 2014

A to Z - K (2014)

I'm doing the A to Z Blogging Challenge this year. The basic idea is to blog nearly daily with each day representing a different letter of the alphabet. My entries will be short and book-related.  




K is for...

Kindness!

This is more about blogging book reviews than about books specifically. Tonight I visited a bookstore and I noticed several books on the shelves in hardcover and fancy paperbacks that I have had the opportunity to review recently or that I have upcoming. It put a little spring in my step, I'll admit. 

So today I want to acknowledge the *kindness* of the authors and publishers who have generously shared ARCs and review copies with me. I realize that it's all part and parcel of the marketing process, getting the word out about these books and such, but I hugely appreciate the opportunity each book provides.

That's all for today!