Saturday, October 3, 2015

Blog Tour: Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David Hammons

Today I want to introduce you to Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David Hammons. This is a fairy-tale mash-up that's getting some really fantastic reviews over on Goodreads and Amazon.

I have to confess that I haven't read all the way through this one--work sometimes intrudes on my precious reading time--but I'm really looking forward to it. The first couple chapters are quite compelling! 

Friday, October 2, 2015

Blog Tour: Born of Treasure by Jordan Elizabeth

Today I want to discuss Jordan Elizabeth's western steampunk sequel, Born of Treasure. Released September 21st by Curiosity Quills Press, this book is the sequel to Treasure, Darkly. Featuring a young man with the recently attained ability to bring the dead back to life, and to communicate with ghosts, Born of Treasure is quite entertaining!

Come back tomorrow for my last review on the Curiosity Quills Press September Releases Review Tour!

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Blog Tour: Hour of Mischief by Aimee Hyndman

Released on September 7th, 2015, by Curiosity Quills Press, Hour of Mischief by Aimee Hyndman is a fascinating action-filled, clockwork-fantasy adventure. I was drawn in by the lovely cover by Amy Chitulescu and I hung around because this is exactly the kind of book I have come to love Curiosity Quills for publishing. The aesthetic is sublime, but above and beyond that, this is a smart-assed, action-adventure story that reminds me in tone of the Indiana Jones movies--a fast enough, high-stakes plot to keep things rolling, but enough humour to keep me engaged, and make me want to come back to re-read.

I'll be participating in an additional two stops on Curiosity Quills' September Releases Review Tour - come back on October 2nd and 3rd for those reviews!

Blog Tour: Nowhere to Hide by Lindsay McKenna

First up today is this lovely tour stop for Lindsay McKenna's Nowhere to Hide. This is the first book in her Delos series, published by Blue Turtle Publishing. This is a romantic suspense novel that ties back into some of McKenna's previous series, so if you're a fan already, you're in for a real treat!

Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

Monday, September 28, 2015

Dance With the Devil by Angela Dennis

The Basics:
Dance With the Devil by Angela Dennis
Samhain Publishing
Book One in the Soul's Harbor Pride series
Romance, Paranormal
Published September 22, 2015
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Goodreads Kobo

Why I picked up this book:

I like a good paranormal romance. I haven't read lion shifters lately, and was intrigued. Curran from the Ilona Andrews series comes to mind, but I haven't read that series in far too long!

Friday, September 25, 2015

500th Blog Post

Yes, this is the 500th blog post here at To Each Their Own Reviews. We also just crossed the 30K page views mark (according to Blogger, so grain of salt), and October 7th is our two year anniversary! 

When I started book blogging two years ago, I didn't really think about where it was going, how long I'd stay at it. 
I've read so many books - so many amazing books that if I wasn't book blogging, I never would have been exposed to, I think. 

I've bought so many books that I wouldn't have, if not for the blogging.

I am so pleased that I took the plunge! There's an amazing community of book bloggers out there. I have blogs I visit frequently, that make me smile on the rough days, that lure me into buying more books on... well... days. Any day, really, is a good day to buy a book. Even though I don't really participate as much in the community as others do, I do *love* you guys. So thank you for being out there, and thank you for checking my blog now and again.

Heading through the end of the year, I'm anticipating many book reviews. I've got a DNF post coming up next week. I think I'll be reviewing some novel-writing books in November (during NaNoWriMo, which I'm doing for the 14th time this year!). 

And of course, there's this...

Today I also want to announce that I'm doing Christmas in October again. Check out my attempt* at a button:

*Yeah. My sisters got the visual design skills. Whatever.

From October 12th until October 16th I will be reading and reviewing Christmas-themed books. Why? Because I can! Because publishers are publishing these books now!

I've got about six romances lined up for the week, and I'm accepting guest posts from authors who want to post something fluffy and pro-Christmas (a top 5 list, a reflection a family tradition, a Christmas recipe). You can contact me via email or in comments.

My reviews will be two-parters--first part, normal review content. Second part? A rating for how Christmas-y the book is. Gift-giving, carolling, cookie-baking, Christmas movie-watching, Christmas mornings, tree decorating and so much more will be considered while I calculate my very serious rating assignments!

And... yeah. That's all I've got for now. Cheers everyone! Thanks for sticking it out with me for 500 posts and beyond!

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Blog Tour: A Little Thing Called Love by Cathy Maxwell

Today I'm thrilled to be hosting a tour stop for Cathy Maxwell's A Little Thing Called Love. This novella kicks off the "Marrying the Duke" series, from Avon Impulse, and it's definitely does the job of setting the stage. I'm a fan of historical romance, and I love getting in at the start of a series, particularly when book one is due out later this year!

Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.