Friday, September 19, 2014

Wildlife by Fiona Wood

The Basics:
Wildlife by Fiona Wood
Poppy
YA
Published September 16, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Kobo

Why I picked up this book:

Could not resist the gorgeous cover.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Soulless by Amber Garr

The Basics:
Soulless by Amber Garr
Hallowed Ink Press
Book One in the Death Wardens series
YA Paranormal Romance
Published August 20, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon 

Why I picked up this book:

I liked the idea of Death Wardens who help the newly dead into the great beyond. I also found the clash of an ex and a new potential love to be somewhat intriguing.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes

The Basics:
Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
Mulholland Books
Mystery/Thriller, Mainstream Lit
Published September 16, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

I like to dip into genres that I don't often have the opportunity to read. This one sounded creepy and modern and kind of cool.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

BOOK TOUR: The Curse Merchant by JP Sloan


I am so excited to have this spot on the blog tour for J.P. Sloan's The Curse Merchant, which became available September 14th, 2014. Please, please check it out, because I loved this urban fantasy novel, and I want more!

The Unsuitable Secretary by Maggie Robinson

The Basics:
The Unsuitable Secretary by Maggie Robinson
Intermix
Book Four in the Ladies Unlaced series
Historical Romance
Published September 16, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

I liked the cover and the secretary-employer trope.

Monday, September 15, 2014

COVER REVEAL: Zhukov's Dogs by Amanda Cyr

I am so, so excited to share with you the delightfully different cover for Amanda Cyr's Zhukov's Dogs. This book will be published by Curiosity Quills Press on October 27th, 2014. 

This one is a new adult, science fiction, action adventure that sounds pretty epic in scope. I had a great streak with science fiction books earlier this year, so I'm looking forward to this one. 

Check out the blurb:


Lieutenant Colonel Nik Zhukov is just like any other desensitized seventeen-year-old living in the year 2076. At least he likes to think he is when he isn’t busy eliminating threats to national security, breaking up terrorist organizations, and trying not to get blown up. It’s all in a normal day’s work for one of the military’s top dogs, and he’s never disappointed. Never failed. Never lost sight of his dream of making it to the elite force, even as each new job forces him to see just how morally corrupt his leaders are.

On the verge of promotion, Nik is dispatched to the underground city beneath the icy Seattle tundra, his final mission handed down directly from The Council. It should have been a simple in-and-out, but the underground is full of dark secrets and he soon finds himself swept into battles, lying to his best friend back east, and growing a bit too close to the rebels he was sent to spy on.

Nik realizes too late that he’s broken the number one rule within his ranks; he’s allowed himself to feel normal for the first time in his life. He might be able to turn the job around, become the soldier he was once was, except for his growing attachment to the rebel leader. A guy. Yet another first for Nik. It’s a mistake he pays for dearly when he learns The Council’s true intentions for the city.


It’s never ‘just harmless fun’ when you’re a government dog, not when The Council holds the leash. Nik knows there are some lines you can never come back from crossing, and he’s forced to choose whose rules to play by. He races toward the invisible divide, aware he’ll be called traitor by both his nation and by his friends. Aware that even the right choice can be deadly to make.

The talented Alexandria Thompson of Gothic Fate is the cover artist, and you'll be clicking through to check out more of her work after you see the cover:

The Kidnapped Bride by Heather Hiestand

The Basics:
The Kidnapped Bride by Heather Hiestand
eKensington Originals
Book Four in the Redcakes series
Historical Romance
Published September 15, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon.ca Kobo.com

Why I picked up this book:

I thought that cover was very cute, and the blurb suggested (to me) a lot of great oneupmanship between the love interests