Friday, November 21, 2014

Blog Tour: Flirting With Love by Melissa Foster






After a week of flu induced silence, I'm so thrilled to break it with today's tour stop for Melissa Foster's Flirting with Love! The tenth book in Foster's The Bradens series and the eighteenth in her larger Love in Bloom series, I came to it fresh. Having never read Foster before, I didn't know what to expect. So very glad I signed up to tour this book because man oh man is this one good! I've already picked up the first two books in the series so I can catch up!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Where There's a Will by Stacy Gail

The Basics:
Where There's a Will by Stacy Gail
Carina Press
Book Four in the Bitterthorn, Texas series
Romance
Published November 17, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Kobo Goodreads

Why I picked up this book:

I love Carina Press and the opportunity to review one of their titles was a no-brainer!

Friday, November 14, 2014

Blog Tour: The Shocking Secret of a Guest at the Wedding by Victoria Alexander




Today I'm thrilled to be hosting a tour spot for Victoria Alexander's The Shocking Secret of a Guest at the Wedding. Published by Zebra / Kensington, Shocking Secret was released on November 4th. It's the fourth book in the Millworth Manor series, and upfront, let me say that it confirms my decision to auto-buy Victoria Alexander. She's one of my go-to historical romance authors for very good reason!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Blog Tour: Catch Me When I Fall by Vicki Leigh




We're taking a look at the intriguing Catch Me When I Fall by Vicki Leigh and published by Curiosity Quills Press. Released on October 23rd, this YA-paranormal romance merges the creepy and the sweet. 

I'm thrilled to be hosting a spot on the blog tour - check out Curiosity Quills for all the other stops.

Let's take a closer look at the book!

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

The Flu

Hey folks!

I absolutely hate missing a review day, but my house is being fondly referred to as 'the plague house' right now. Between my husband and daughter coming down with pinkeye last week (Thursday/Wednesday), and then my husband getting the flu.... and then yesterday my son (who is not yet 18 months old) also got pinkeye, and I started to get a sore throat which escalated across the day.

Needless to say that I've been unfortunately, crazily busy and am now crashing. I'm committed to some review tour dates tomorrow and Friday, and then another on the 21st, but I suspect the blog will be 'closed' for the early part of next week. Hopefully I can keep up the reading, and drafting of reviews so that once I'm feeling better, I can double-post some of this backlog (it's the thought of editing and formatting that makes my head throb!)

Here's hoping that you and your family stay nice and healthy! 

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Someday Maybe by Ophelia London

The Basics:
Someday Maybe by Ophelia London
Entangled: Embrace
Book 2 in the Definitely Maybe series
New Adult, Romance
Published October 20, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Kobo

Why I picked up this book:

I really liked the first book in the series.

Blurb:

Some guys are impossible to forget.

Rachel Daughtry has a 10-year plan that leaves no room for mistakes. Or not-so-serious boys—including Oliver Wentworth, the freshman boyfriend she's never forgotten. Now she's back in San Francisco with an awesome-slash-scary new job. Unfortunately, The Plan doesn't cover things like meeting her best friend's new “secret” guy...Oliver.

Fortunately, no one knows that Rachel and Oliver were ever together, and endless bikini wax torture couldn't make Rachel hurt her friend. But it's killing Rachel. She's not over him. Not even a little. And as her 10-year-plan crumbles around her, Rachel realizes that maybe—just maybe—Oliver feels the same way.

Now Rachel is on the verge of losing all control. And her best friend. And the love of her life...

My thoughts:

I cannot talk about Someday Maybe without talking about the first book in the series. I loved Definitely, Maybe in Love when I read it last year. I love Pride and Prejudice and I thought London's adaptation was excellent.

Unfortunately for Someday Maybe, I've never read Persuasion, which I gather is Austen's tale of love lost and found again. So it didnt come with that added boost of joy as I compared storylines and anticipated moments and so forth.

So... Rachel and Oliver both seemed like pretty honest characters. Rachel had made some poor decisions and was trapped by them, but she didn't *want* to hurt anyone. She was also conscious of the fact that she'd kind of sucked when it came to handling Oliver and her relationship during freshman year, and that made me like her even more. Making a mistake and realizing you've made it and regretting it are all good character development things in my book.

Oliver was a bit harder to get a fix on, manly because I missed having Oliver's perspective - the back and forth of perspectives by chapter in so many new adult books has really spoiled me! Having to be more clever than our heroine and read into his actions? Geez! Maybe I'm becoming a lazy reader.... Regardless, he seemed like a good guy, and I'd kind of like to spend more time with him in future books in the series, to get to know him better.

One thing I didn't really buy into was the friendship with Meghan - Meghan didn't seem like a particularly great friend to me, and I was surprised by the lack of 'air-clearing' between these two. I'd like to think that such great friends would at least attempt to address things when things felt a little weird, right?

Now, story-wise (clearly secondary to characters for me), there's the present storyline and then flashbacks to tell us the story of Oliver and Rachel *before.* I did find that the flashbacks dragged a little - I didn't care so much exactly how things went down, as long as I had the gist of it. But I do think that overall, these bits were necessary to really develop the relationship between Oliver and Rachel in the present, so do power through them!

Bottom line:

Someday Maybe is a solid contemporary romance. It was a relief to read a new adult without the characteristic uber-angst - sometimes the parade of damaged characters in this genre can be exhausting! 

I can't really speak to it as an adaptation of Persuasion but I can say that overall, I found the book pretty entertaining!

4 stars
For fans of Ophelia London, new adult, contemporary romance, second chance at love stories.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Draw Me In by Regina Cole

The Basics:
Draw Me In by Regina Cole
Flirt
New Adult, Romance
Published November 4, 2014
Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Amazon Kobo

Why I picked up this book:

Blurb!